Vegan Options at Taco Bell: What Can You Eat?

Vegan Options at Taco Bell

Eating out, as a vegan, can be stressful. While just about every restaurant offers a salad that’s vegan (once removing cheese and meat), eating salads gets boring. Over the past few months, I have discovered a number of vegan options at Taco Bell.

Eating out, as a #vegan, can be stressful. Click To Tweet

I am not going to say Taco Bell, even the vegan options, is super healthy, but it’s an option and not a terrible one. Since my wife and I travel often, grabbing a meal during a drive is pretty common. As a vegan, I cannot dine at certain restaurants simply because my options would include fries and plain bread.

However, Taco Bell has surprised me with the vast number of options for vegans. Going vegan at Taco Bell really isn’t that hard; as long as you have the guts to modify things and a good cashier taking your order.

Looking to go Plant Based for more Energy and Productivity? Check out my FREE eBook called, “8 Practical Tips for Better Productivity Through Proper Eating” and get your copy by clicking here.

My Favorite Vegan Options at Taco Bell

taco-bell-menu

I can’t say I have tried every vegan option Taco Bell offers, as we don’t go there that often. However, I have tried a few and have settled on the 7-layer burritos and the Veggie Power Bowls as my favorites. Of course, these don’t come vegan right off the menu. You have to do a bit of modifying.

For the 7-layer burrito, I substitute black beans for the refried beans (don’t have to, but I prefer it) and I ask for it Fresco style, which means they substitute Pico de Gallo for any dairy products on the item. This eliminates the sour cream and the cheese, which really makes it a six-layer burrito, but who’s counting?

For the Power Bowl, you have to order the veggie one (not usually listed on the menu). Again, you have to go fresco style and make sure they don’t put any of the sauce on top of the guac…I think it’s a spicy ranch sauce. I like to add extra black beans and extra guac to my bowl.

These are my favorites, but only two of the many #vegan options at #TacoBell. Click To Tweet

These are my favorites, but only two of the many vegan options at Taco Bell.

More Vegan Options to Enjoy at Taco Bell

taco-bell-crunch-wrap

Taco Bell actually lists a vegetarian menu on their website here. Take any of these many items and remove the dairy and you have vegan Taco Bell options. Most of the vegetarian options do have dairy, but order them fresco style and you’ll get Pico de Gallo instead.

Some of the best vegan options at Taco Bell include:

  • Cinnamon Twists – No Modifying Necessary!
  • Chips with Guac, Salsa or Pico de Gallo
  • Bean Burrito ordered Fresco style
  • Black Bean Burrito with no cheese
  • Any Tacos with Refried or Black Beans substituted for the meat and no cheese or sour cream
  • Nachos with beans, rice, guac, salsa and lettuce
  • Crunchwrap supreme with beans for the meat and no cheese or sour cream
  • Mexican Pizza with beans for the meat and no cheese or sour cream
  • Black beans and rice
  • Spicy Tostada without chipotle sauce or cheese
  • Just about anything else with beans substituted for the meat and no dairy!

It might be easier to understand the ingredients Taco Bell offers falling into the vegan category. After all, restaurants menus are just a list of ingredients organized neatly into meals. You, as the customer, have the ability to reorganize those ingredients to fit your specific dietary needs.

Vegan ingredients found at Taco Bell include:

  • Black Beans
  • Guacamole
  • Pico de Gallo
  • Fire Roasted Salsa
  • Refried Beans
  • Latin Rice
  • All sauce packages
  • Cilantro
  • Jalapenos
  • Taco Shells (soft and hard)
  • Lettuce
  • Onion
  • Red Strips
  • Tomatoes
  • Tortilla
  • Chips
  • Tostada Shell
  • Romaine Lettuce

Arrange these ingredients however you prefer and you’ll have a fast, delicious vegan meal.

My wife follows a woman named Sarah on YouTube. She and her husband have done a fair amount of traveling and she recently did a video about vegan options at Taco Bell, so I thought I’d include it. Watch the video below:

Now, if we could just get Taco Bell to go all organic, we’d all have a great reason to dine there. The good news is, most of the items used at Taco Bell, at least for vegans, are non-meat items. This helps to ensure you’re getting safer food, as non-organic, non-grass fed meats are terrible for the body.

Looking to go Plant Based for more Energy and Productivity? Check out my FREE eBook called, “8 Practical Tips for Better Productivity Through Proper Eating” and get your copy by clicking here.

If you’re out on the road or just need a taco fix, you don’t have to avoid Taco Bell because you’re a vegan. There are several vegan options at Taco Bell, which means you’re not stuck eating lettuce out of a bowl for $5 to $7 because your friends wanted to go to some other fast food joint.

What’s your favorite vegan option at Taco Bell or any other fast food restaurant? Share in the comments section below.

Find out How Your Diet Impacts Your Productivity with These 8 Tips!
Enter your Email to Download Your FREE eBook Today!
We respect your privacy.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.